We celebrate Shipping Excellence

The ESG Shipping Awards is a platform for the recognition and celebration of sustainable practices while allowing award-winning companies to inspire, educate, and collaborate with others to drive positive change in the shipping industry.

Stay tuned for the ESG Shipping Awards 2024 INTERNATIONAL!

ESG Logo

The Initiative

The ESG Shipping Awards under the auspices of the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Insular Policy as well as the Hellenic Chamber
of Shipping
is a new institution whose vision is to promote and recognize initiatives on ESG and Sustainability within the Maritime industry.

Award Categories

The ESG Shipping Awards have been established to recognize the best-performing companies or organizations across a range of ESG categories. The ESG Shipping Awards will promote best practices, innovation, and leadership in the space of ESG within the Maritime industry.

The Events

The ESG Shipping Awards THE CONFERENCE was held at the Grand Hyatt on Friday, 20 October 2023. At this sequel of the awards, the companies presented the winning actions and explained the impact on operations along with the challenges and opportunities during implementation.

The “Award Winners” ceremony took place at the Megaron Concert Hall on Tuesday, 30 May 2023. It celebrated the winners and highly commended entrants in each award category and provided an excellent networking opportunity for business leaders in the shipping industry.

The Launching Event of the ESG Shipping Awards 2023 was held on 17 January 2023 at the Goulandris Natural History Museum


The Judging Committee is responsible to judge the finalists and the winners of each ESG category.  Strict rules of confidentiality and conflict of interest apply both for the Judging Committee and the selection process. 

Once the selection process is completed, finalists will be informed individually. 

Nicholas Pfaff

Nicholas Pfaff 

Deputy CEO, Head of Sustainable Finance International Capital Market Association (ICMA)

Martha Selwyn

Martha Selwyn

Sustainability Advisor ,  Ocean Stewardship Coalition

Andreas A. Papandreou

Andreas A. Papandreou

Professor of Environmental Economics
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Kostas Gkonis

Kostas G. GKONIS, PhD

Director / Secretary General of INTERCARGO

Jan Fransen

J.A.A.J. (Jan) Fransen

Executive Director – Green Award

Manwlis Koutoulakis

Manolis St. Koutoulakis

Secretary General of the Aegean and Island Policy
Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Insular Policy

Elpi Petraki

President, WISTA International

Elisabeth Vishnevskaja

CFA, Head of Partnerships, Climate Bonds Initiative

Apply Your Company

By entering the ESGSA, Maritime entities can increase their reputation and credibility as well as create a competitive advantage against their peers.

Become an ESG Shipping Awards Sponsor

Companies can support by being Awards or Event sponsors. By sponsoring the ESG Shipping Awards, organizations will associate their brand with positive impact and sustainable best practices.